Uncategorized

Easiest Cookies EVER

You might remember that about a week ago, I went to a cookie exchange, and I had been trawling through Pinterest for the perfect recipe. I thought I had struck it when I found the super simple Nutella cookie recipe, but alas disaster struck. I was sure that my cookie exchange was on the Saturday night, so I planned to shop for ingredients and cook all that morning. Friday rolled around and I became aware that I had been very wrong and the cookie exchange was THAT DAY. What is a girl to do when faced with having to bake cookies with a bare pantry and no way to get out to the shops (the perils of living in the country I’m afraid)? I hit google hard. I searched through my pantry – my very very empty pantry – and came up with what I needed for the easiest cookie recipe I have ever made in my life. And I can tell you, I am NOT a baker. Most things I make fail in a spectacular fashion. Well…..not. This. Time. I am so impressed with these cookies, which have 4 ingredients. 3 to make a really basic one. My 2 year old loves them. They are everything that I love in a cookie. They’re golden, with a light crunch at the edge, but super soft and chewy in the middle. I think I’m in love. They’re a Cake Mix Cookie. All you need is a box of cake mix – ANY cake mix will do, 60mL of vegetable oil and 2 eggs. That’s it! I also used some dessicated coconut to make vanilla and coconut cookies. I combined all of the ingredients – dry cake mix, oil and eggs, and mixed it. I was so happy when it almost immediately became the texture I know cookie dough should be, but I can almost never achieve. I used a melon baller to scoop out dough, rolled the balls between my hands and then rolled each ball in the coconut. Baked in 160 degree celcius oven (that’s 320f) for 10-12 minutes and these babies were perfect!

16507526_10154511191303937_1720311578_n

You could make them with any flavour cake mix, you could add choc chips or whatever mix ins you like. They are so versatile! I may roll my next batch in granulated sugar. The best part is, it takes less than 5 minutes to mix up the dough, and not long to cook so they are super easy!

Cake Mix Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of cake mix
  • 60mL vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • Whatever mix ins you would like to use

Method:

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until they form a soft ball of dough.

Roll small balls between hands, if desired roll in coconut (or sugar, cocoa, sprinkles, etc etc)

Bake in 160C (320F) oven for 10-12 minutes until golden.

 

That’s it!! How easy! Makes somewhere around 2 dozen. Can be frozen as dough.

 

Leave a Reply

