Granny Squares

Nordic Star Square

I found this square on Ravelry and wanted to give it a go.  First I tried the original pattern, which I followed for the first five rounds (to completion of the star), but then I started having trouble with the author’s directions for squaring it off, which is when I started following this pattern to try to square off.  I don’t know if it’s just me and I can’t get my head around simple things, but I had trouble with this one too.  After trying and ultimately unraveling my work six or seven times, I ended up making up the final two rounds myself.

So, in order to make a square like mine, follow the original pattern found here, and then follow these directions:

Rnd 6 (after corners, all worked in back loops only): Join colour B in any corner then ch3 (counts as first DC).  dc, ch2, 2dc in corner sp, *dc in blo of next 5 sts, dc3tog (blo), sc in next st, slip st through next 3 sts, sc in next st, dc3tog across next 3sts. dc in next 5 sts**, 2dc, ch2, 2dc in corner sp.  Repeat from * 3 times, finishing at ** the 3rd time.  Join with a sl st to beginning ch3.

Rnd7: ch3 (counts as first dc), dc in next st, 2dc, ch2, 2dc in next corner sp, *dc in each st across to next corner, 2dc, ch2, 2dc in corner sp. Repeat from * around.  Join to beginning ch3.  Finish off.

nordic star

 

I have to say, I’m kinda proud of how this one came out – I didn’t think I’d be able to work out how to square it off on my own.  I pretty much thought I was going to have to abandon it, which would have been a shame because I really like how the star turned out.

Thanks for visiting!

Nat xx

Leave a Reply

